Golden Crown Guesthouse, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong: A Review

         Hi! We’re back from our Hong Kong – Macau trip and I’m now going to share with you our experience. Our trip was from Feb. 3 – 6, 2015. Rupert, Zuri, my sister Han and I shared a room at Golden Crown Guesthouse, Golden Crown Court, 66-70 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong.

           Six months before our travel, I was looking for a place to stay in Hong Kong when I read about Golden Crown Guesthouse. The reviews were very good and for its price, I couldn’t find a better deal. I sent them a message through their website. I was very impressed at how promptly they answered me. However, I was told that they only accept reservations 3-4 months before the travel date.

        Four months before our trip, I messaged Golden Crown again through their website and asked for their Superior Quadruple Room. This time I was able to get a reservation and was very happy about it.

IMG_7976

The entrance to Golden Crown Court, the building where Golden Crown Guesthouse is located, is between Citibank and Standard Chartered Bank. Right beside it is a Bonjour store.

Why I Like Golden Crown Guesthouse:

1.  Clean room, spacious bathroom and commendable service for cheap

            Our room was spotless. The sheets, the tiled floors and the bathroom were all very clean. The ensuite bathroom is surprisingly spacious. A glass enclosure separates the hot and cold shower area from the toilet bowl and sink area. Towels, toiletries, hangers, a mirror and a hairdryer are also provided. A Superior Quadruple Room comes with two double beds, an air conditioner, a television, a telephone, a small foldable dining table with chair, a thermos, cups, free hot and cold drinking water and free wi-fi.

P1050499

This is Room 616, Superior Quadruple Room at HKD650/night. It has 2 double beds, an air conditioner, a telephone, a bedside table, a small foldable dining table with chair, thermos with cups, free hot and cold drinking water and free wi-fi.

The ensuite bathroom is surprisingly spacious. It is approximately 7 x 7 feet. The shower area has a water heater and is separated from the toilet bowl and sink area by a glass enclosure.

P1050500

The toilet bowl and sink area in the ensuite bathroom. Towels, toiletries, cups, tissue paper, hangers, a mirror and a hairdryer are provided.  The  trash can in the bathroom is emptied everyday by the cleaning lady who also cleans the room daily.

 

              My favorite perks are the free drinking water and free wi-fi. Before leaving in the morning, I would fill a plastic bottle with water from the water dispenser outside our room. There was one time we used their free hot water for preparing instant cup noodles. The free wi-fi was fast. Rupert was able to do some work using their free wi-fi. 

               Service exceeded my expectation, considering that we were in a guesthouse, not a hotel. Everyday, we would come back to our room from a day of fun and see that our room had been tidied up for us. The receptionist was also very helpful in giving directions as to where we could eat and change our money given the late hour. He even provided us with a map for free. We were also issued an extra keycard for my sister with a refundable deposit of HKD100. We were also allowed to leave our luggage in the reception area for safe-keeping after check-out.

              The reception area of Golden Crown Guesthouse is found at the 5th floor while the Superior Quadruple Room (Room 616) is at the 6th floor of the Golden Crown Court building. Three small elevators service the building. Golden Crown Court is a quiet, peaceful place unlike the nearby Mirador and Chungking Mansions.

                All these for only HKD650 (around PHP3,700) good for 4 pax. This is considered cheap in Hong Kong.

2. One-minute walk from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station

            Golden Crown Court is less-than-a-minute walk from TST MTR Station Exit A2. The MTR can take you to most destinations in Hong Kong including Hong Kong Disneyland.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 9.12.04 PM

Golden Crown is one minute away from TST MTR Exit A2 on foot.

3.  Easy Transfer to and from the Airport

           Getting to Golden Crown from the airport is a breeze. The easiest way is by taking Airbus A21. No additional transfers needed. Just get on the bus at the airport and get off almost in front of Golden Crown. Travel time takes no longer than an hour. A ride on A21 costs HKD33/adult (PHP 190) and HKD16.5/child 3-12 years old (PHP 95) using the On-Loan Octopus Card. There are booths at the Hong Kong International Airport Arrivals Hall that sell Octopus Card. Buy Octopus Cards first before proceeding to the bus stop. One Octopus Card per passenger. Buy the Adult On-Loan Octopus Card for adults and the Child On-Loan Octopus Card for children 3-12 years old.  (The Octopus Card can also be used to pay for MTR rides.)

            There is a designated bus stop for A21 right outside Hong Kong International Airport Arrivals Hall. Just follow the signs. Swipe your Octopus Card upon getting on the bus. A21 has enough luggage space. It also has a monitor that shows the current location of the bus and the upcoming bus stops so that passengers will not miss their stop. There are red buttons that say “stop” in front and on the side of the seats. Press this button before arriving at your stop to alert the driver that someone wants to alight. Otherwise, the driver will not stop and just drive on to the next bus stop.

SAM_2925

Don’t worry about your luggages because there is ample space allotted for them.

SAM_2929

A monitor in the A21 bus shows a list of the stops. Bus stop #13 Cameron Road is the nearest bus stop to Golden Crown.

SAM_2928

The monitor also shows the next stop. If your stop is already the next one, press the red stop button to signal the driver that someone will alight at the next stop.

SAM_2930

The stop button. You’ll see this in front or on the side of your seat.

Rupert inside the A21 bus.

       

              To get to Golden Crown, alight at the 13th stop (Cameron Road) of A21. This stop is found along Nathan Road corner Cameron Road and is in front of a G2000 store, a Sasa store and TST MTR Station Exit B1. From here, it is just a 2-min walk to Golden Crown along Nathan Road.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 9.29.54 PM

Shown here is the path from the A21 13th bus stop (Cameron Road) to Golden Crown. The 13th bus stop is located along Nathan Road near corner Cameron Road. It is in front of a G2000 store, a Sasa store and TST MTR Exit B1. This is just a one-minute walk according to Google, but it actually took us two to three minutes to walk from the bus stop to Golden Crown with our luggages and a stroller.

 

             Going to the airport is also easy because the bus stop for A21 is just in front of Golden Crown along Nathan Road. Just cross the street (Nathan Road) and you will see the bus stop for A21 going to the airport. The monitor in the bus likewise states the current location of the bus and the upcoming bus stops going to the airport. Pay attention so that you don’t miss your stop. Don’t forget to press the red button. The bus stops include Hong Kong International Airport Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 among others.

4.  Near China Ferry Terminal

           For those going to or coming from Macau, the location of Golden Crown is also very convenient because it is just a 10-15-min walk to China Ferry Terminal along Canton Road.  China Ferry Terminal has ferries to and from Macau that operate from 7:00 am to 23:59 pm. Check travel schedule here: http://www.turbojet.com.hk/en/routing-sailing-schedule/hong-kong-macau/sailing-schedule-fares.aspx

          To get to China Ferry Terminal from Golden Crown, cross the street (Nathan Road) and walk down Haiphong Road until you reach Canton Road. You will see a Fendi store in front of you. Cross the street (Canton Road) and turn right. Continue walking along Canton Road until you see China Hong Kong City Mall on your left. China Hong Kong City Mall is connected to China Ferry Terminal. Enter this mall and go up to 1/F. Ticketing windows, immigration and boarding gates are all here.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 9.42.01 PM

Shown above is the path from Golden Crown to Standard Chartered Bank China Hong Kong City Mall. China Hong Kong City Mall is connected to China Ferry Terminal. From Nathan Road, turn left to Haiphong Road. Walk straight until you reach the end of Haiphong Road. You’ll see a Fendi store in front of you. Cross the street (Canton Road), then turn right. Walk down Canton Road until you see China Hong Kong City Mall on the left. Enter this mall and go up to 1/F. Here you will find the ticketing windows that sell ferry tickets to Macau, immigration and boarding gates. This is a 10-to-15-minute walk.

5. Near Hong Kong Space Museum, Avenue of Stars and Star Ferry Terminal

            Hong Kong Space Museum and Avenue of Stars are just a 10-min leisurely walk from Golden Crown along Nathan Road. Hong Kong Space Museum is open Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday : 1:00 pm – 9:00 pm; Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday: 10:00 am – 9:00 pm; closed on Tuesdays. Exhibit Admission fees: HKD10/adult, HKD5/child.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.46.05 PM

Hong Kong Space Museum is probably just 10 minutes away from Golden Crown on foot. However, it took us longer to get there because we were sidetracked by the retail shops along Nathan Road. To get to Hong Kong Space Museum from Golden Crown, walk along Nathan Road until you reach the end of the road, cross to the other side of Nathan Road, then cross Salisbury Road.

          Avenue of Stars is one of the tourist spots in Hong Kong. It is found along Victoria Harbour. It displays the hand prints of famous stars like Jackie Chan and Jet Li and has a statue of superstar Bruce Lee.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.39.11 PM

After crossing Salisbury Road, continue walking forward to reach Avenue of Stars. Ten minutes from Golden Crown on foot.  Turn left to see the Bruce Lee statue and the stars for Jackie Chan, Jet Li and others.

       

             Just beside Avenue of Stars is the Star Ferry Terminal that has ferries that take passengers to and from Central.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.54.30 PM

6. Near Kowloon Park

          The entrance to Kowloon Park along Haiphong Road is only about 5 minutes away from Golden Crown on foot. Among the interesting attractions at Kowloon Park are: Color Garden (features colorful flowers), Bird Lake (a lake with flamingos), Aviary, Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Center, Chinese Garden, Maze Garden, Children’s Playground and Swimming Pool. Opening Hours: 5:00 am to midnight. Admission Fee: Free (except swimming pool).

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 9.51.35 PM

Golden Crown is just 5 minutes away from Kowloon Park on foot. Cross Nathan Road and turn left to Haiphong Road. Cross Haiphong Road and walk down the street until you see the entrance to Kowloon Park on the right.

 

7. Surrounded by shops and eateries

             Golden Crown Guesthouse is surrounded by shops from left to right, front to back. Right beside the entrance to Golden Crown Court is a Bonjour store where we were able to buy perfume at discounted prices. Other stores found at the immediate vicinity of Golden Crown are Giordano, G2000 and Sasa.

         Golden Crown is also just a few steps away from Mirador Mansions and Chungking Mansions which have shops, eateries and money changers inside. Chungking Mansions has a Cafe de Coral branch that serves affordable Chinese food (around HKD30 per meal).

           Big shopping malls along Canton Road are also just walking distance from Golden Crown like the Silvercord Mall, China Hong Kong City In-Town Outlets Mall and Harbour City Mall. Temple Street Night Market is only one MTR Station away (Jordan MTR Station along Tsuen Wan Line).

            Most establishments around Golden Crown are open only till 10:00 PM.  Good thing we found this eatery along Carnarvon Road at the back of Golden Crown. The eatery is beside Simpson Sin Tailor. We ate here at around 11:30PM. Rice meals cost HKD40. An order of noodle soup costs HKD32. A glass of cold milk tea costs HKD18 while hot milk tea costs HKD16.

SAM_2941

The eatery we found along Carnarvon Road behind Golden Crown. Located beside Simpson Sin Tailor.

SAM_2939

Yummy Chinese food

Rupert’s curry and rice meal (HKD40) + cold milk tea (HKD18).

SAM_2934

I gave some of my cuttlefish and seaweed noodle soup to Zuri.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 7.35.11 PM

The eatery we found is located along Carnarvon Road, beside Simpson Sin Tailor.

 

8. Transparent and Prompt Transaction

     The good thing about transacting with Golden Crown is that they are very transparent and prompt. To make a reservation, go to their website http://www.goldencrownhk.com/ Then, click Reservation. Fill in the form and submit. You will be given an invoice number.

             Your reservation and its status will be displayed under Latest Reservation. Upon submitting my reservation, I received an email telling me how and how much to pay. The status of my reservation under Latest Reservation at this time was Email Sent. After paying the reservation fee by credit card, the status of my reservation under Latest Reservation changed to Finished. I also received an email confirming my reservation. I had to print this to show the receptionist later on upon check-in. Another way to view your reservation is by clicking My Reservation under Member Area. You will be asked to enter your email address and invoice number to log-in.

             If you have questions, click Guestbook. Type in your question here and submit. Then, your question will be displayed together with their reply on the Guestbook page. The Guestbook page displays all the questions of all the other guests, too. If you want to view only your own questions and their reply, click My Guestbook under Member Area.

             I reserved a Superior Quadruple Room for 3 nights (HKD 650/night). I was asked to pay HKD650 to confirm my reservation, then, I had to pay HKD1300 in cash upon check-in. Credit card payment is accepted for making reservations, but the balance should be paid in cash. There are no hidden charges. The room price stated in the website and in the email confirmation I received is the exact price I had to pay, not a single dollar more.

A Standard Single Room costs HKD350/night (PHP2,000).

A Standard Twin Bed (2 single beds) costs HKD420/night (PHP 2,400).

Renovated – Couple Room (one double bed) costs HKD420/night (PHP 2,400).

Renovated – Double (2 single beds) costs HKD470/night (PHP 2,700).

3 Persons Family (1 double 1 single bed) costs HKD580/night (PHP 3,300).

4 Persons Quadruple (2 double beds) costs HKD600/night (PHP 3,400).

Superior Quadruple (2 double beds) (our room – Room 616) costs HKD650/night (PHP 3,700).

Deluxe Couple (1 queen bed) costs HKD520/night (PHP 3,000).

Deluxe Quadruple (2 queen beds) costs HKD750/night (PHP 4,300).

All rooms come with an ensuite bathroom, telephone and free wi-fi. Tax and service charge are already included in the above prices. No hidden charges/additional fees.

       Golden Crown Guesthouse also sells discounted tickets to most attractions in Hong Kong. We bought our Disneyland tickets from them at HKD420/adult and HKD315/child (vs. HKD499/adult and HKD355/child Disneyland published rates). They gave us the actual Disneyland tickets (not vouchers). They only accept cash payment for the tickets.

          The people who manage Golden Crown Guesthouse, Eric and Kenny, are very nice,  helpful, approachable, easy to talk to and have a good command of English.  Golden Crown has become quite popular to tourists on a budget that it easily gets fully-booked. In order to get a room, be sure to reserve way in advance (4 months in advance).

     The complete address of Golden Crown Guesthouse is 5/F Golden Crown Court, 66-70 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, HongKong. Golden Crown’s website is http://www.goldencrownhk.com/

Thanks for Reading! 🙂

Up Next: Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po

You might also want to read:

Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po Hong Kong – Michelin Star for Cheap

http://www.mommykay.com/tim-ho-wan-sham-shui-po-hong-kong-branch-michelin-star-for-cheap/

visitors estimator

Stat free hit counter
Blog Directory for the Philippines
Blog Directory for the Philippines” data-recalc-dims=
Personal - Top Blogs Philippines

2 comments

  1. Kyoya says:

    Hi, this blog post is very on point! 😉
    my friend and i will visit HK this Jan 2016 and Im still looking for a place to stay.
    Mukhang dito na lang kami magbook sa golden crown kasi very detailed na lahat ng insructions mo dito e. hehe. anyways, thanks for this info!! 🙂

Leave a Reply